Kelly appears gone; Peterson, too? Davis leaves for D-II team

March 24, 2009

It appears sophomore Jake Kelly is set to leave Iowa, just two weeks after being named Big Ten Player of the Week.

Kelly’s father, Bob, said he didn’t want to comment about his son leaving the team — yet.

“Well, I really haven’t been informed about any official announcement so I’d hate to comment,” Bob Kelly said. “I’d be glad once anything comes out about him leaving or what he’s doing. I just wouldn’t feel right stepping in front of Jake on that.”

Sophomore guard Jeff Peterson “most likely” plans to transfer to Missouri State in his hometown of Springfield, Mo., a close friend of Peterson’s said Wednesday.

Junior Jermain Davis said today he is leaving the Iowa men’s basketball team for Minnesota State-Mankato after the spring semester. He said he thought about leaving during the final two months of the season.

“The last 10 games, I just wasn’t happy with myself just being there,” Davis said. “I was just not meant to be there. It’s not fair to him (Coach Todd Lickliter), not fair to me.

“I was frustrated with the way things going and I was so wound up, I couldn’t do anything.”

Davis started 11 of the 30 games he played. He averaged 4.6 points. He scored 16 points against Iowa State and double digits in two other games.

“I think it just wasn’t a fit really,” Davis said. “It was just I think after a while going throughout the season I was just kind of, I didn’t really know my role. I didn’t understand it. Ultimately, what kind of made me make the decision was that I wasn’t happy.”

Two weeks ago Jake Kelly refuted rumors that he planned to transfer to Indiana State following the spring semester. It appears likely that an official announcement of Kelly’s release could come as soon as Thursday.

 The sophomore remains on campus, enrolled in classes and attended a team meeting Monday.

Kelly said March 9 he thought about moving back to Indiana to be closer to his family.

“Of course I considered that when my mom died, yeah,” Kelly said. “That’s probably where they get that from but this is where … I’m here, where I’m going to be.”

In Iowa’s final seven regular-season games, Kelly averaged 20 points a game. He produced back-to-back double-doubles in Iowa’s final two regular-season games.

Kelly was named Big Ten Player of the Week after scoring 23 points, dishing nine assists and grabbing eight rebounds, all while playing 45 minutes in an overtime win against Michigan. He followed that with a pair of 20-point performances in losses at Michigan State and Northwestern.

But Kelly really established himself against Penn State. Despite playing with a 101-degree temperature and a sinus infection, Kelly played 47 of 50 minutes in a double-OT upset win against Penn State. He scored 22 points, dished 11 assists and grabbed four rebounds in them game.

Kelly was an honorable mention all-Big Ten selection this season.