First bears, now mountain lions in North Liberty?

Is it a coyote or a mountain lion? Drivers along I-380 weren't sure Monday morning. (Hint: the animal is part of the dog family)

Is it a coyote or a mountain lion? Drivers along I-380 weren't sure Monday morning. (Hint: the animal is part of the dog family)

This morning, The Gazette heard there was a report of a dead mountain lion along I-380 just north of the North Liberty exit (exit 4).

My family and I live in North Liberty, about 2 miles from the site where this animal was found this morning. My wife was called by a fellow Gazette employee and asked to check it  out. She did so, but I was much more interested in the dead animal than she was.

She found it, about a quarter-mile north of the North Liberty exit. She thought it was a coyote but told me the animal had tan fur. So just to make sure, I drove there myself to check it out.

I suppose at a quick glance driving 75 m.p.h on I-380 it might look like a cougar, but up close, I can tell you it’s a coyote.

I just hope this incident doesn’t give North Liberty a reputation as the town that cried wolf/mountain lion/bear. After all, we’re still trying to live down (or prove) the bear sighting in town that occurred about 14 months ago. 

Another look at the dead coyote along I-380 north of the North Liberty exit.

Another look at the dead coyote along I-380 north of the North Liberty exit.

2 Responses to First bears, now mountain lions in North Liberty?

  1. dpesek says:

    I saw this last poor animal last evening when I was driving between IC and CR. Thought it was a coyote, but wasn’t 100% sure it wasn’t a dog (hard to tell the difference going 70 mph). Mountain lion never crossed my mind tho.

  2. marijke says:

    when this is not a (dead) dog…….? No reports of missing dogs?

Leave a comment