Dominique Douglas’ letter from the Johnson County Jail

Former University of Iowa football player Dominique Douglas listens as his attorney speaks during his sentencing Friday, Jan. 25, 2008 at the Johnson County Courthouse in Iowa City. Douglas received a deferred judgment and two years probation after pleading guilty to credit card fraud for an incident when he and former teammate Anthony Bowman purchased merchandise using stolen credit cards at two University of Iowa buildings on May 8, 2007. (Brian Ray/The Gazette)

Former University of Iowa football player Dominique Douglas listens as his attorney speaks during his sentencing Friday, Jan. 25, 2008 at the Johnson County Courthouse in Iowa City. Douglas received a deferred judgment and two years probation after pleading guilty to credit card fraud for an incident when he and former teammate Anthony Bowman purchased merchandise using stolen credit cards at two University of Iowa buildings on May 8, 2007. (Brian Ray/The Gazette)

Yep, that’s right. Dominique Douglas was back in Iowa City after violating his probation. He was extradited from the Wayne County Jail in Detroit because he failed to send monthly reports, provide proof that he is enrolled in college or pay his fines.

Douglas was released from the Johnson County Jail on Thursday. He was fined $625 plus costs and given credit for time served. He was a rising star at Iowa following a 49-catch freshman season in 2006. He then was arrested for unauthorized use of a credit card, a felony. He pleaded guilty to credit card fraud, an aggravated misdemeanor. He was booted from the football team following an arrest for shoplifting DVDs at Wal-Mart.

Douglas was in the Wayne County Jail in Detroit on armed robbery charges. The outcome of that case is undetermined.

On June 3, Douglas wrote a letter to 6th Judicial District Judge Douglas Russell while he sat in the Johnson County Jail. The letter is public record, and I left in all grammatical errors but added paragraph breaks for easier reading. Here is a copy of it:

Dear Judge Russell,

I’m writing you today concerning the nature of my case. I take full responsibilities for my actions and understand all of the consequences. I’ve ask God to accept my challenges and guide me through life everyday. I knew that I am allowed to live my life as I please, to make mistakes and to learn from them. Doing so I’ve eliminated conflict and confrontation, because I have found out it is unnecessary to prove myself to anyone. Understand that everything I have done is done, regardless of my opinion about it. My past is over, and everything I have done has gotten me to the point I’m at this moment. Time has lost its importance in the linear sense, and I don’t feel compelled to keep track of when, where, and how fast I live my life.

Your honor this has happen to me without goals or objectives. I basically just stop referring to time and scheduling my life, and I’ve found that I’m more efficient as a result. During this time I’ve had an opportunity to think about where I see myself 5 years from now and how I plan to get there. I wanna give back to the communities and children who are unable to do certain things because of their disabilities. I really believe giving is why I am here. I’ve been working on detaching myself from the need to get something and instead focus on reaching out to others. Alot of deputies in Johnson County have pulled me to the side and told me it’s not over, it’s all about how you fight back. That meant alot to me because for a year now I’ve held a grudge with certain people because of my mistakes. Which hasn’t made sense at all.

But all this has help my progress of my growing into a man and understanding no one owes me anything. You have to work hard to get what you want in life. That’s why giving is the answer because I’m not concerned about what I get back, it’ll come in blessings. May 6, 2009, I was offered another full-ride scholarship to Lincoln University in Jefferson City, Missouri, another blessing in the sky for me. I finally have that second opportunity to get a fine education again, something I have been missing for two years now. Having been through all these situations in such a short amount of time, I’ve never been more ready. I also know that I have to get alot of things straighting out before I can move forward and I’m prepared for it. I only have two and a half years left of school before I earn my bachelors degree and one full-time semester to earn my associate’s.

It’s all about sacrifice now, leaving friends and family behind so that I can be a successful black african-american male. I’ll have three kids by November of this year, and I wanna be the best father I can be to them. It starts by me setting better examples, graduating from college, working for my family, being a real man. Your honor I thank you and the state of Iowa for all that you have done for me, you’ve helped me realize never to take anything for granted no matter what you’ve achieved or succeeded at! It could all be gone just like that, no matter how long you’ve worked for it.

Peaces and Blessings

Dominique M. Douglas

9 Responses to Dominique Douglas’ letter from the Johnson County Jail

  1. bucketochicken says:

    Good luck, Mr. Douglas. I wish you the very best of success. Stay strong. You can do it.
    Peace.

  2. Ed says:

    What a crock. This kid has already had numerous chance after chance to make things right. And this time, he has magically changed and not only will make things right but deserves ANOTHER (essentially) get out of jail free card and to be handed another scholarship and everything he needs?

    The kid obviously isn’t ready to WORK for the achievements he needs to be successful in life. He should have had the book thrown at (his head) him a long time ago, instead of repeated slaps on the wrist. Honestly.. it’s time he learns what it means to have responsibility and accountability.

  3. Justin in KC says:

    I am going to be an optimist and hope he does well. If he does get out of Jail and plays in Jeff City i may just have gander on over there to watch him play and tell him good luck.

  4. Jon says:

    What’s it been 6 months since he committed a felony?

  5. Horace Greeley says:

    3 kids by November! Perfect! Open your wallets everybody to assist with MORE DD contributions to society. Idiot.

  6. Bellanca says:

    Well, he’s obviously not very articulate, so perhaps it’s not fair to read his letter too carefully. That said, does someone with these verbal skills get a scholarship to an accredited college absent All-Big Ten hands?

    But an apology might have been useful, in addition to his putting the judge on notice that only he (the judge) is holding him back from becoming the responsible individual and man he suggests he would like to be. The judge isn’t holding him back. The man in the mirror may be. He’s hurt a lot of people, but he’s talking only about himself.

  7. kitty says:

    everyone deserves a chance to success. success depends on the failure you’ve had and the lessons you’ve learned from the failures, no matter how many they are. go DOMINQUE DOUGLAS. TAKE THIS OPPORTUNITY AND RUN WITH IT. BELIEVE IN YOURSELF FIRST. KEEP GOD IN YOUR HEART. HOPE THAT YOU GO FAR IN LIFE RATHER IT’S IN FOOTBALL OR BUSINESS. JUST GO ALL THE WAAAAAAAY! REMEMBER YOUR FAMILY IS THERE NO MATTER WHAT. THEY ARE FIRST REMEMBER FRIENDS COME AND GO.

  8. ADSIS says:

    I believe in you Dominique, and regardless of the situation, only you can turn it around. Its easy for others to judge when they are on the outside. I hope that this time you take this opportunity to change your life, and realize that life is bigger than football, and street life. You can break the cycle of going in and out of jail, it’s time to focus. Your life is not over, everything happens for a reason, and you better believe God never gives you more than you can handle..so question have you learned the lesson that God has been trying to teach you?

  9. Mrs. Douglas says:

    Everyone makes mistakes and we all go through our own trials and tribulations. for those with negative comments, take a look at your selves and think how perfect you are. YOU ARE NOT. Mr. Douglas is and will always be one of the greatest despite mistakes that he has in his life. People are able to change and make good of the bad situations that they once encountered. GOOD LUCK MR. DOUGLAS, I LOVE YOU HONEY BUN! just remember, SEEING IS BELIEVING!

Leave a Reply

