Alburnett’s Thoreson wins one, anchors another for state title

DES MOINES — Kyle Thoreson stayed fresh, cooled down at the right time and produced major results for Alburnett.

Thoreson, a junior, won the 200-meter dash and anchored Alburnett’s 4×100 relay team to victory Saturday at the Class 1A state track meet at Drake Stadium.

Thoreson finished fourth in the 100 and had a quick turnaround to compete in the 200. He was able to regroup and won in 22.33 seconds.

“I thought it was an OK start,” Thoreson said. “I’m not known for the best starts in the world, but I was happy with this one.”

Thoreson anchored Alburnett’s 4×100 and fought neck-and-neck with Madrid’s Cody Matthewson down the stretch. Thoreson pulled it out with a lean at the end.

“I felt him there,” Thoreson said. “I saw him in the corner of his eye, so I just dug deep because I really wanted to win for the three seniors on our team.”

Clear Creek-Amana won the Class 3A shuttle hurdle relay in 59.37. The final turned into a virtual WaMac meet with Clear Creek-Amana edging Benton Community and Vinton-Shellsburg for the win.

Clear Creek-Amana’s four hurdlers all had Mohawk-styled haircuts to express uniformity.

“We just wanted to individualize each other like a team bond, and we actually just shaved his (Alex Novak’s) this morning,” said Hunter Stokes, who ran the third leg.

Waukon’s Jordan Ashbacher finished third in the Class 3A 800 run in 1:57.85. He caught Sioux City Heelan’s Matt Lord at the end.

“I knew that if I could stay up with that front pack I’d be doing pretty good,” Ashbacher said. “This is my last race of my senior year. Jut give it all I got and I think I could get him.”

Iowa City Regina sophomore Daniel Bonthius took second in the Class 2A 800 in 1:56.89. North Tama’s shuttle hurdle team placed second in 1:00.48.

Leave a Reply

