4A Eastern Iowa rivalries commence at state meet

DES MOINES — Eastern Iowa track rivalries extended to Drake Stadium on Thursday.

Iowa City West junior Frank Canady and Cedar Rapids Washington senior Lewi Manirumva have battled through different sports, on different tracks and in multiple conditions. The results always are close, and the Class 4A state 3,200-meter run was no different.

Canady, an Iowa City West junior, edged Manirumva, a Cedar Rapids Washington senior, in a sprint at the end in the race for second place. Canady, who lost to Manirumva last week at the district meet, finished in 9 minutes, 23.34 seconds, almost 1 second more than Manirumva, who stumbled about five meters from the finish line. Des Moines North’s Omet Kak won the race in 9:14.64.

Manirumva and Canady went back-and-forth last fall in cross country. Manirumva won most of the races until district and state, when Canady finished one place higher. Canady edged Manirumva at the Drake Relays before Manirumva won last week.

“I really have a lot of respect for Lewi,” Canady said. “He’s an amazing runner and great guy. He made the race tough for me, and a little fun. I felt a little bad for out-kicking him because I know he’s worked hard his whole career.”

Manirumva led Canady on the final lap before Canady took over on the straightaway. Manirumva said he wasn’t happy with his race. When asked what could have made it better he said. “finish second.”

Canady was thrilled with his performance and finish.

“I was third at state cross country. I was third at Drake,” Canady said. “I decided to go win something or at least get a place higher. That was kind of my goal.”

Cross-town rivals Kevin Dibbern of Iowa City High and Iowa City West’s Alonzo Markham produced a near photo finish in the 400 during last week’s district meet. For more than 300 meters, it appeared the same this week as well.

But Markham struggled down the straightaway, fatigued by running preliminaries in the 100 and 200. Dibbern overcame Markham and Ottumwa’s Alex Kelly to win his second straight 400 title.

Dibbern won the event in 47.77 seconds, the sixth-fastest time in state history. Markham finished third in 48.46.

“I just used Alonzo for the first two, and I kicked it at the 300 mark and just didn’t look back,” Dibbern said. “It was great.”

Dibbern will run track next year at Iowa. Markham plans to attend Iowa Central Community College and compete in either track or football.

“I ran the best I could do after running two events before,” Markham said. “I kind of died at the end, but I think I ran pretty good altogether.

“It was the last 100 that got me. I just didn’t have enough. I should have saved a little but I ran my hardest.”

Manirumva later helped Washington finish second in the 4×800 relay in 8:01.49. Waukee won the event in 7:53.88. 

Linn-Mar’s Nate Hutcheson finished fifth in the boys’ high jump, leaping 6 feet, 4 inches. Indianola’s Noah Kittelson won the event with a jump of 6-8.

“My best was 6-6 and I wanted to get there,” said Hutcheson, who will attend Western Michigan on a basketball scholarship. “It was a fun experience overall.

Hutcheson will starting attending summer classes June 22.

Iowa City West is in third place with 16 points, while Cedar Rapids Washington is sixth with 14 points after the first day.

Leave a Reply

