Hayden on Shonn Greene, Ferentz, Bill Snyder

  Former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry may live in Mesquite, Nev., but as he said in his retirement press conference in Iowa City 10 years ago, he’s always remained a Hawk.
  At age 79, he still carries the wit that endeared him to the Hawk masses. He also makes sure he watches the team he coached for 20 years and to three Rose Bowls every Saturday on television.
  “I’ve got three screens on my (satellite) feed, and I watch three games at a time,” Fry said Friday night at the Iowa men’s basketball game in Las Vegas. “I don’t miss any one of (the Iowa football games).”
  Fry also likes what he sees from Iowa junior running back Shonn Greene, who’s a finalist for the Doak Walker Award and the nation’s leading rusher. Fry said Greene compares favorably with Sedrick Shaw, who played for Fry from 1993-96 and is the school’s all-time leading rusher.
  “I guess (Greene) does. I hadn’t really thought about it,” Fry said. “I don’t know if he’s got the speed that Sedrick had, but you know Nick Bell was larger. Tony Stewart may have been faster, I don’t know, I know Sedrick was.
  “(Greene is) larger than some of the running backs that I had that were really good. He’s not as elusive but for a big guy he is elusive. I just hope and prays he stays with the Hawkeyes another year.”
  Fry also was excited about the job Iowa Coach Kirk Ferentz has done this year. Iowa finished 8-4 after a 3-3 start. The four losses came by a total of 12 points.
  “A super job when you lose that many games that close,” Fry said. “It’s real hard to keep the morale up and the sportswriters and the news media off his rump. They hung in there and that 55 to zip against Minnesota and one point against Penn State was super.”
  Fry said he’s thrilled for his former assistant Bill Snyder, who decided to return to Kansas State at age 69.
“He worked so hard to build that program, and they’ve slowed down some and he’s got so much pride in what he did to get it back and he will,” Fry said.
  As for Fry, his health is declining some but his wit remains strong.
  “I’ve had a couple of bladder cancer operations recently, and I asked the doc after the last one, I said, ‘What do you think, doc?'” Fry said. “And he looked at me and said, ‘You really want to know?’ I said, ‘Of course I want to know.’ ‘Well, I’ll tell you one thing, you’re too dang ornery to die.’ I said, ‘That’s what I wanted to hear.'”

3 Responses to Hayden on Shonn Greene, Ferentz, Bill Snyder

  1. EP says:

    KHF at his finest! Always good to hear from him and great Lick embraces him and Dr. Tom.

  2. EP says:

    JHF, not KHF, oops…..

  3. Puddn'head says:

    Say what you want about Hayden; to meet that man in person and have a few moments with him, he is the epitome of charm.

Leave a Reply

