Wyatt Suess keeps level-headed approach to joining Iowa football

Cedar Rapids Washington quarterback Wyatt Suess (17) runs for a gain of three yards against Cedar Falls in a semifinal playoff game at the UNI Dome in Cedar Falls on Nov. 14, 2008.

Cedar Rapids Washington quarterback Wyatt Suess (17) runs for a gain of three yards against Cedar Falls in a semifinal playoff game at the UNI Dome in Cedar Falls on Nov. 14, 2008.

Wyatt Suess went out for track to get in shape for football.

The Cedar Rapids Washington senior is a preferred walk-on at Iowa this fall and wanted to gain some speed before hitting the field this fall. Suess led off Washington’s 4×100-meter relay team that finished fifth at state last weekend. Washington ended up winning the state meet, its first state track title since 1977.

“Obviously, we’re really happy about this,” Suess said moments after the relay team clinched the state title. “It’s pretty exciting for us.”

Suess, the son of former Iowa starting quarterback Phil Suess, now is focused on football. He’s the only recruited quarterback in this year’s class but immediately finds himself at best fourth on the depth chart. As of right now, he’s OK with that.

“I  just want to go in there and show them what I’ve got and if it works out, maybe I’ll move up the depth chart,” Suess said. “It is an advantage coming in. I don’t have a ton of expectations.

 Washington football video

“This summer I’m going to try to work really hard and get my strength up and my speed up. It’s mainly why I came out for track and for a state title. The next few years I know I’m not going to play, but I’m going to work hard and hopefully get a scholarship eventually and just make the team better and do the best I can.”

Suess stands 6-foot-4 and weighs 215 pounds. He earned Class 4A all-state honors last fall for Washington, throwing for 3,163 yards, 24 touchdowns and only five interceptions. Suess helped Washington reach the state semifinals in football and also helped lead Washington to the basketball substate finals.

Suess will join former teammate Keenan Davis at Iowa. Davis was an all-state wide receiver at Washington and also played basketball and ran track with Suess this year.

With his size and speed, Suess has left open the possibility to switching positions at Iowa.

“I’ve just got to work hard,” he said. “If I switch positions, then I’ll switch positions. Just do anything I can do to get on the field.

“If they want me to move positions, then track has helped me get my speed up. It’ll help me in the long run.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

