Kelly addresses transfer rumors

Multiple posts on Internet message boards have Iowa sophomore guard (now star) Jake Kelly transferring to Indiana State after the season. Those posts suggest Kelly wants to return to his native state to be closer to his family, especially in the wake of his mother’s death last summer in a plane crash.

Kelly shot down those rumors Monday.

“Nope,” Kelly said when asked if those rumors are true. “It happened to me a lot in high school, too. I lived in a small town and all of them are big basketball fans and they all get on the Internet and like to act like they know me and stuff.”

Kelly admits he thought about moving back to Indiana to be closer to his father, Bob.

“Of course I considered that when my mom died, yeah,” Kelly said. “That’s probably where they get that from but this is where … I’m here, where I’m going to be.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

